Healing Architecture

Selected Writings of János Gerle Text: Attila Turi With the support of the Hungarian Academy of Arts, the Association of Hungarian Architects has published a volume of writings titled Healing Architecture written by János Gerle (1947‒2012), architect and writer, who died ten years ago. Its size, format and paper binding suggest a book easy to […]

Prima Primissima Award 2022

Architecture category: Péter Sugár On December 2nd, this year’s Prima Primissima Awards honoring prominent representatives of Hungarian intellectual life, art, science and sport were presented in the framework of a festive gala evening at the Müpa, Budapest. In the Hungarian architecture category, Péter Sugár, an architect and university professor, received the award, while Tamás Getto […]

Budapest Architectural Award 2022

FUGA, 11. 18. Presented on 18th November each year on the anniversary of the unification of Budapest, the capital city’s birthday, the aim of this award is to promote the creation of new values, the preservation of traditional values and the development of architectural and environmental culture. In keeping with tradition, the award ceremony this […]

Media Architecture Awards 2022

Uránia National Film Theatre, 12 November On 12th November, for the 18th time, the most outstanding works of this year were recognised at the Media Architecture Awards Gala at the Uránia National Film Theatre. Founded by Építészfórum (Architects’ Forum), the Media Architecture Awards are a unique event in that the assessment is open to the […]

World Architecture Day 2022

Architects’ House, 03. 10. 2022 On October 3rd, from 10:00 a.m., the Architects’ House hosted this year’s all-day-long programme to celebrate World Architects’ Day launched by the UIA in 1998. The opening event was a conference held in Kós Károly Hall, which was also the one opening MÉSZ Architects 7 programmes. In 1998 the International […]

MÉSZ 120

120 years of the Association of Hungarian Architects Text: Tamás Ulrich The history of the professional organization founded in the summer of 1902 on the initiative of Ödön Lechner as the Association of Hungarian Architects is described in a unique way in the jubilee publication prepared for the 120th anniversary, the excellent work of editors […]

Architects-in-Chief Awards 2022

Photos: Benedek Bognár Established in 2000, the Chief Architect of the Year Awards have been presented for the 23rd time this year. This award is to honour an active architect, whilst the Chief Architect Oeuvre Award is given to a long-serving or retired/retiring architect. A total of 52 architects have been awarded with it so […]

Jože Plečnik Central European Architecture Prize 2022

Hungarian Architects Honoured in Prague The Jože Plečnik Prize is awarded to outstanding architects and civil engineers for their lifetime contribution to architecture and the cause of the preservation of historic buildings and monuments. It bears the name of Jože Plečnik, Slovenian architect, who was commissioned by President Tomas Garrigue Masaryk to design the restoration […]

Ferenc Török Memoration Day

House of Architects Ferenc Török, architect and university professor, was commemorated by the profession on the first anniversary of his death in September 2022. An exhibition titled Praesens perfectum ‒ Memories of architect Ferenc Török’s oeuvre was opened in the Architects’ House by Father János Varga, Rector of the Collegium Pazmanianum in Vienna.

Young Architects in Black-and-White

In the autumn of 2022, a comprehensive volume titled Young Architects’ Generation 2006‒2022 was published by MÉSZ to present the winning projects of the competition launched in 2006.

Csonka Pál Award 2022

Founded by the Association of Hungarian Architects in 1988, the award commemorates Pál Csonka, who was considered an internationally renowned scientist and teacher of several generations of architects. The award is intended to recognize the creative cooperation of architects and structural designers (constructors). The prize can be awarded in the creative couple and individual creative […]

OSSKÁR Award for Architecture 2022

The OSSKÁR architecture award was founded in 2020 by the architects Judit Osskó and György Tokár, with the aim of honoring outstanding, new architectural creations and ensembles in which humanity, harmony and quality play a leading role, as well as organically fitting the to the spirit of the surrounding settlement and landscape. In 2022, the […]